This Week in Immigration Reform

Week Ending April 14

This week in immigration: NCLR produces a “Know Your Rights: Financial Safety” checklist in English and Spanish; nearly 1500 economists agree immigration strengthens the economy; upcoming webinar discusses partnerships for community education and immigration screenings.

Tools you can use: This week, NCLR produced a “Know Your Rights: Financial Safety” checklist, which outlines the important steps people can take to protect their financial security and that of their loved ones if facing deportation or detention. The informative tool offers guidance and tips on a broad array of financial matters including accessing bank accounts, managing a mortgage or a lease, and filing taxes, among other topics. The checklists are available in English and Spanish.

New American Economy pens letter touting the benefits of immigration:  The New American Economy this week published a letter signed by nearly 1500 economists representing a broad array of economic and political views on the benefits immigration brings to our nation and the need to move forward on an immigration policy that benefits our immigrant community and capitalizes on their talents and unique skillsets. The letter notes how immigrant workers “bring diverse skill sets that keep our workforce flexible” and how their participation in fields such as science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) help create life-improving products and drive innovation in the U.S. Additional gains include the impact of young immigrant workers in helping offset the retirement of baby boomers and as drivers of economic growth.

Upcoming Webinar Discusses Strategies for Community Education and Immigration Screenings: The Immigration Advocates Network invites you to a free webinar, “Partnerships for Outreach: Strategies for Community Education and Immigration Screenings,” on Thursday, April 20th at 2:00 pm Eastern / 1:00 pm Central / 12:00 pm Mountain / 11:00 am Pacific. Legal experts and community and religious organizations are working together in innovative ways to provide legal rights information and screenings. The panelists will discuss how they collaborate to reach more people and leverage limited resources.

Register today. Your registration will generate a confirmation email with information on how to join the webinar.

Leave a Reply